Process overview for obtaining a Maryland Wear And Carry Permit
The wear and carry permit offered at WJW Fitness is the Maryland State Mandated 16 hour course. During this course, you must show the ability to shoot 72% or higher on the qualification shooting course. To pass the course live shooting test you must score a minimum of 90 points out of a possible 125 points in 25 shots. For security personel you must score a minimum of 175 points out of a possible 250 points in 50 shots. You will also need to obtain livescan fingerprints $65 and the state of Maryland application fee is $75 for initial applications.
The cost for the WJW course is $300 plus the purchase of 1 additional box of ammunition.
Please BE ADVISED just because you take this course DOES NOT guarantee that the state of Maryland will approve your application for a Conceal & Carry Permit.
In the State of Maryland, one must have a “Wear and Carry Permit” in order to carry a firearm concealed on their person.
In order to obtain a permit, one should first ensure they qualify to obtain the permit. You need to meet the following qualifications:
Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:
1. Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.
2. Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;
3. Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;
4. Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;
5. Has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary as a reasonable precaution against danger.
6. As of October 1, 2013, has completed the Maryland State Police approved firearms training course within 2 year prior to submitting the original or renewal application.
As you can see from requirement number six you must obtain an approved firearms training course. Our team provides those courses.
Also, as per number five above you need to demonstrate a good and substantial reason to apply for and obtain a permit.
What constitutes a good and substantial reason? Based on the guidance provided by the Maryland Public Safety Code, handgun permits may be issued to applicants based on the following circumstances:
1. Owner or employee of a business. You must submit photocopies of the Trader’s, Business or Narcotics License or Articles of Incorporation to support Business ownership or as an authorized employee. You must also submit photocopies of six random deposit slips or deposits within a year for the business or a letter from the bank attesting that you have a business account. If you are an employee, you must submit a letter from your employer on the business letterhead, verifying your employment and detailing the requirement or desire from the owner that you be armed.
2. Correctional Officers. Must submit verification of employment and documentation of threats and/or assaults (ie., police reports, facility incident reports, and intelligence reports).
3. Active, Former, and Retired Maryland Law Enforcement Officers? and retired or former federal law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland and who were assigned in Maryland during their employment– as long as the application is submitted within one year from the date the officer either retired in good standing or separated in good standing and/or the officer has a valid LEOSA permit/certification/identification, the Handgun Permit Unit may accept that the applicant has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against the apprehended danger originating from his/her law enforcement position.
For retired or former federal law enforcement officers and retired or former out-of-state law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland but were not assigned in Maryland during their employment, LEOSA is a nationally recognized credential and a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit is not required or necessary. The Maryland Police & Correctional Training Commission (MPCTC) may serve as the certifying agency for LEOSA if eligible and the application and guidelines can be found on the MPCTC website at mdle.net Should you desire a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit you will be required to provide a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.?
4. Private Detective/Security Guard/Special Police/Armored Car Guards. All applicants (unless exempt from training) who are employed as Private Detectives, Security Guards, Special Police Officers, and Armored Car Guards must submit a firearms qualification score sheet obtained from a Maryland State Police Certified Handgun Instructor on the State Police form. A letter from the employing agency which verifies employment and position, the ownership of the weapon, and the location where the weapon will be stored when off duty is also required.
5. Personal Protection. There must be documented evidence of recent threats, robberies, and/or assaults, supported by official police reports or notarized statements from witnesses.
Once you have completed our training course you can submit your application packet to the state licensing division here:
Maryland State Police